Six times a charm

Vikings defeat Marian in six OT’s

Langston McHenry , Editor-in-chief

It’s been a Thanksgiving Eve tradition for many years now, and Wednesday night was no different. Crosstown rivals Marian Catholic and H-F continued their annual rivalry game with a game for the ages.

The visiting Vikings (4-0) defeated the Spartans (3-1) with a score of 74-73 respectively in a six overtime thriller, and eventually defeated Bloom in the championship game with a score of 60-55. 

This is the second year in a row the Vikings have won the tournament.

“I expect a game very similar in terms of intensity, but we should take care of business,” Tribble said. “I’m just going to get some rest, eat some food during Thanksgiving, and get prepared mentally to play Bloom.”

The Vikings will need much rest after playing two hours of basketball in the raging heat that consumed Marian’s gym.

“I felt the heat throughout the whole game, but the team talked about how we had the a.m practice and after school practices,” senior Jarett Tribble said. “We worked harder when no one was a looking.”

Tribble lead the team in scoring with 20 points and added two highlight reel dunks. But the most important basket for Tribble was a tip in after a missed three pointer by senior Nick Holmes that extended the game into the fourth overtime.

“I didn’t think it was going to go in,” Tribble said. “I just wanted to give our team a chance, and I knew if I could get involved with the rebounding, I can give our team that.”

There were many chances to win for both teams, but fatigue became a factor down the stretch. According to reports from a Marian official, the school went through 15 gallons of water.

“Our focus couldn’t be on the heat or anything else, but to win, and we had to push and knock down shots, which we did,” senior Jeffrey Boyd said.

Boyd finished with 18 points and five three pointers

“They aren’t that disciplined in the open court, and I took advantage of that,” Boyd said

Boyd, Tribble and Cortez King-Parks were named to the All-Tournament team.